144h Transit-residence permit

  • slider
by James
29. July 2017
Category:   Blog Features

It is approved by the State Council.

in Shanghai, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, and Guangdong international travelers, passengers from 53 countries or regions to transit in the above cities or provinces for no more than 144 hours (6 days) without holding a visa.

Passengers are required to enter and leave from the eligible transit ports only, but the entry port and exit port do not have to be the same. For instance, one can land in Guangzhou Baiyun Airport but leave from Shenzhen Bao’an Airport, or one can take a cruise to Shanghai and then leave by air from Nanjing or Hangzhou.

The layover time should be limited to 144 hours. However, the 144-hour free stay period counts from 00:00 of the day following passengers’ arrival. After confirming his  qualification for 144-hour visa-exemption transit, the immigration inspection station will issue the foreign passenger a temporary entry permit. Then from 00:00 of the next day upon his  arrival in China, he  can stay in the administrative precincts of Shanghai Municipality, Jiangsu Province and Zhejiang Province without a Chinese visa for 144 hours the allowed time to stay is actually a little bit longer than 144 hours. If one arrives at 6:00am on July 1, the layover time counts from 00:00 of July 2 and the passenger should have a ticket with the scheduled departure time before 23:59 of July


1.  Inform the carrier before your arrival, so that they can declare your request to the immigration office for processing.

2. Remember to register at native police station within 2 days. If you live in a hotel, you don’t need to do that since the hotel can help. If not,you should go to the police station or ask somebody else to help you to register your stay. Your passport and the rental contract and the copy are needed.

More information about Shanghai you can also contact:  Shanghai General Station of Immigration Inspection 0086-21-51105100

In addition to this policy, cruise passengers who enter China from Shanghai and exit China with the cruise can enjoy a 15-day visa-free stay in China provided that they are received by a travel agency. They can visit other coastal areas as well along with the ship, like Beijing, Liaoning, Hebei, Tianjin, Shandong, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Fujian, Guangdong, Guangxi and Hainan. you can check the 15-day Visa-Free Policy by the way.

List of Qualified Countries Countries  are Albania, Argentina, Austria, Australia, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Macedonia, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America.

We, home of shanghai, can not save you if you forget your time to leave China because of high play interest. We may help expats about the residence permit and  help you register in the police station



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *